welcome back.

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything for leisure. It’s been even longer since I’ve written something in a state of calm.

Yet here I am typing away while listening to an evening acoustic playlist at my desk.

The last year of my life has been anything but evening acoustic and blogging for fun. It has been filled with anger, organizing, high school, and then suddenly – college and all that it entails. Navigating this transitional portion of my life has proven difficult to say the least.

I graduated high school in August 2015. I was the first of my family to finish high school, walk across that stage, and turn my tassel. It was always expected of me to be the one in the family who would graduate and “get out”, going to some Ivy League far away.

Yet here I am living down the block from my Ma and attending University of Nevada Las Vegas.

My life has changed so much in the last year. I’m no longer just the angry young organizer who let herself be defined by just that for far too long. I’ve learned so much about myself in the past year and little to none of that journey has anything to do with university.

Instead, I have found bits and pieces of myself that were buried underneath this unwavering and exhausting commitment to the “greater good” and all of the multitudes of organizations I had wedded myself to. By letting go of the little things, focusing on myself and my happiness, and learning how to say no, I have begun to build a freer and more joyous life.

I am eager to begin to share it, just as eager as I am to live it, even with all of the obstacles and the bumps along the road.

join me.

 

Leave a Reply

