An Open Letter to Assemblywoman Michele Fiore, From A “Young, Hot Little Girl on Campus”

Ms Assemblywoman Michele Fiore,

My name is Caitlyn Caruso. I am a high school student here in Las Vegas, who is active on UNLV’s campus and is an out rape survivor to the media.
I am writing to inform you of my disappointment and anger that survivors of rape and sexual assault are being used as your political tool to pass AB 148, the campus carry bill. Your comments today to the New York Times were off hand, blaming, inappropriate, and absolutely unacceptable.
-If these young, little hot girls on (1)
Statistics show that nearly 3/4 of all sexual assaults are committed by someone the victim knows personally. When I was raped, it took me off guard, because I had been given drinks that clouded my judgment and consciousness by the perpetrator – a family friend. There is no way I would have been in the right frame of mind to have shot someone nor would I have been able to pull the trigger looking in the eyes of someone I grew up with, while in shock and disbelief of what was happening.
If you were at a party with a friend on campus, and they started to push you against a wall, in all of your shock and potential inebriation had they drugged you (as statistics show many campus sexual assaults go), could you look them in the eye and shoot them in the head? As you advised women on campus to do, in your statement?
Not only will you be arming women on campus with this bill, but potential rapists will be armed too. You will be putting guns in the hands of our rapists, and then asking us to walk from class to class at night on campus.
If you care about campus sexual assault, you will address the problem at the root by proposing a bill that educates our students on consent, rape, and sexual assault. If you cared about rape survivors such as myself, you would push for education on these issues as early as middle school.
Instead, you care about your guns, and continue to use my trauma for your political agenda.
I will not have that.
I ask for you to make a public apology, and I demand for you to speak with organizations like the Rape Crisis Center, and evaluate your stance on this bill. Don’t charade this bill as a rape prevention bill when it is the furthest from that it can get.
I am looking forward to continuing this conversation with you as I come up to Carson City to lobby, and I truly hope you listen.
Signed,
Caitlyn
5 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Assemblywoman Michele Fiore, From A “Young, Hot Little Girl on Campus”

  1. Pingback: A Republican politician just advised ‘hot little girls’ to carry guns so they don’t get raped | MrBetGuru

  2. Pingback: A Republican politician just advised ‘hot little girls’ to carry guns so they don’t get raped | TKG News

  3. Pingback: A Republican politician just advised ‘hot little girls’ to carry guns so they don’t get raped | Daily World News - Sport, Business, ShowBiz, Tech, Fashion

Leave a Reply

